Strip 105 - "Phaedrus vs. Gaius - Round 3"

6th Dec 2014, 12:00 AM in Forest of Doom
first Latest
Average Rating: 5 (3 votes)

first Latest

Permalinks:

Comments:

(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)
Bitzer 6th Dec 2014, 1:49 AM edit delete reply


"Meteor Knight"
Hm, it appears that dear Phaedrus is in trouble.
Raxon 6th Dec 2014, 2:17 AM edit delete reply
Raxon
Gonna guess he took sorc.
Malroth 6th Dec 2014, 4:35 AM edit delete reply
Malroth
Well a bloodline or school power could be very useful at getting past Phaedrus's defenses and could be used fully armored without penalty, or he could be pulling off a still spelled cantrip but thats almost never useful.
fellow 6th Dec 2014, 9:22 AM edit delete reply
fellow
Or he could be using somatic spells with an armor penalty, since that's probably still better than being a fighter.
Malroth 6th Dec 2014, 5:19 PM edit delete reply
Malroth
Yeah but concidering that problem is so easily solved by simply not wearing Armour and has such a significant penalty for failure that its unlikely unless he's in a Twilight enchanted, Mithril Feycraft fullplate with Thistledown padding (stacking -20,-10,-10,-10 to spell failure chance)
holywhippet 7th Dec 2014, 5:58 PM edit delete reply


Cleric level might make more sense since heavy armor wouldn't be a problem. I'm not sure what spell would require him to drop his shield first for any choice though unless he's summoning a second weapon.
Malroth 8th Dec 2014, 2:16 AM edit delete reply
Malroth
All spells require a free hand to cast.
Raxon 8th Dec 2014, 4:27 AM edit delete reply
Raxon
I thought that was only if it had a somatic component.
holywhippet 8th Dec 2014, 5:17 PM edit delete reply


http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicOverview/castingSpells.htm

According to the D&D rules you just need to be able to gesture if it has a somatic component as far as I can see. It is a bit vague on what gesture means but I think unless you are physically restrained you should still be able to cast with a weapon and shield in hand (you can just use a finger on your weapon hand).
Disloyal Subject 14th Dec 2014, 10:38 PM edit delete reply
Disloyal Subject
It can be vague. As a general rule, I've seen divine spells that can be cast in a standard action or less ignore standard gear, so unless you're carrying an armload of something, like, say, a princess, or a sack of kittens, or 40 cakes if you're Evil, you're fine. Longer than that and you don't need to remove the shield, but you will lose its AC bonus while busy casting.
Arcane magic's a whole different ballgame. Excepting classes like 3.5's Duskblade (and maybe PF's Magus, I'm still unversed in the system's intricacies) that get a free pass from class features, I'd require any shield heavier than a buckler be removed for most arcane casting if

(just found this comment while purging unused tabs. Will make sense of it and edit later.)
(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)